DIOCESAN SYNOD ELECTIONS 2024

Vacancies; Nominations & Appointments

General Synod

CLERGY (16 members)				
Name	Elected by	First Elected	End of term	
The Very Revd Frances Burberry	Diocesan Synod	2017	2025	
The Revd Canon Dean Fostekew	Diocesan Synod	2018	2026	
NOMINATION: The Revd Ollie Clegg	Diocesan Synod			
The Revd Nicki McNelly	Diocesan Synod	2020	2028	
The Revd Canon Dave Richards	Diocesan Synod	2019	2027	
The Revd Ryan Bennett	Diocesan Synod	2024	2028	
The Revd Christine Downey	Standing Committee*	2024	2028	
The Revd Canon John McLuckie	Standing Committee*	2024	2028	
The Revd Amy-Jo Philip	Standing Committee*	2024	2028	
AREA COUNCIL-NOMINATED				
The Revd Canon Robert King	Borders	2024	2028	
The Revd Jane MacLaren	Edinburgh Forth	2021	2025	
VACANCY	Edinburgh East			
VACANCY	Edinburgh South			
The Very Revd John Conway	Edinburgh South West	2020	2028	
The Revd Diana Hall	Mid & East Lothian	2018	2026	
The Revd Susan Ward	West Forth	2021	2025	
ALTERNATES				
The Revd Ollie Clegg	Standing Committee*	2024		

 $[\]ast$ - nominations came in after Diocesan Synod so were subsequently approved as elected by Standing Committee on Synod's behalf.

LAY (16 members)				
Name	Elected by	First Elected	End of term	
Victoria Elliott	Diocesan Synod	2017	2025	
Emma Forrest	Diocesan Synod	2021	2025	
Lei Garcia	Diocesan Synod	2021	2025	
lan Kerry	Diocesan Synod	2021	2025	
Anne Martin	Diocesan Synod	2020	2028	
Janet McKinnell	Diocesan Synod	2022	2026	
Helen Mitchell	Diocesan Synod	2021	2025	
Helen Vincent	Diocesan Synod	2021	2025	
Helen Wright	Diocesan Synod	2021	2025	
AREA COUNCIL-NOMINATED				
Tim Hatton	Borders	2024	2028	
David Stevens	Edinburgh East	2023	2027	
VACANCY	Edinburgh Forth			
Andrew Daye	Edinburgh South	2024	2028	
Michael Wood	Edinburgh South West	2021	2025	
Dr Vicki Clark	Mid & East Lothian	2021	2025	
Duncan Sinnett	West Forth	2022	2026	

Diocesan Members of Provincial Boards

Standing Committee: Ms Bridget Campbell (Convener 2020-2025)

Faith and Order Board: The Right Revd Dr John Armes, Victoria Elliott* (2023-2027), NOMINATION: The Revd Ollie Clegg and The Revd Canon Prof Mike Hull, Pantonian Professor.

Mission Board: The Revd Christine Downey*

^{* -} Diocesan Appointments elected by Diocesan Synod for 4-year terms

Administration Board: Mark Harris

Buildings Committee: David Gibbon

Scottish Episcopal Institute Council: The Revd Canon Prof Mike Hull

Other Provincial Committees

Provincial Panel for Episcopal Elections: Canon Alasdair Dinnie (LAY)* (2024-2028) and The Very Revd Frances Burberry (CLERGY)* (2020-2026)

Diocese Committees

Standing Committee Members (Diocesan Charity Trustees)

Membership - The Bishop who shall convene the Committee; A Vice Convenor who shall be a Lay person to be appointed by the Standing Committee from its membership. Two clerical and two lay members to be appointed by the Diocesan Synod. The Dean, Registrar, Diocesan Secretary, Diocesan Treasurer and the Convenors of the Mission & Ministry and Finance & Management Committees

The Rt Revd John Armes, Bishop, Convener (Ex-officio) The Very Revd Frances Burberry, Dean (Ex-officio)

CLERGY

The Revd Rosie Addis (2019-2027) (Synod appointee)

The Revd David Dixon (2021-2025) (Synod appointee)

The Revd Dr Sophia Marriage, Convenor, Mission & Ministry Committee (2023-2027) (Ex-officio)

LAY

Mrs Victoria Elliott (2017-2025) (Synod appointee)

Mr Ian Lawson, Diocesan Treasurer (Ex-officio)

Professor Wilson Poon, Diocesan Secretary; (Ex-officio)

Mrs Pippa Snell, Registrar (October 2024-2029) (Ex-officio)

Mr Robert O'Riordan, Convenor, Finance & Management Committee (Ex-officio)

Michael Wood (2024-2028) (Synod appointee)

Mission & Ministry Committee Members

Membership - A Convenor to be elected by the Diocesan Synod; The Bishop, Dean and the Diocesan Secretary; Three clerical and three lay people appointed by the Diocesan Synod

The Revd Dr Sophia Marriage, Convenor (2019-2027)

The Bishop (Ex-officio)

The Dean (Ex-officio)

Diocesan Secretary (Ex-officio)

CLERGY

The Revd David Paton-Williams (2017-2025) (Synod appointee)

The Revd Nicki McNelly (2024–2028) (Synod appointee)

The Revd Elizabeth O'Ryan, Member of Provincial Mission Board (2024–2028) (Synod appointee)

LAY

Anne Martin (2022–2026) (Synod appointee)
Rachel Penman (2022–2026) (Synod appointee)
VACANCY (Synod appointee)

Finance & Management Committee Members

Membership - A Convener to be elected by the Diocesan Synod; The Bishop, the Dean, the Diocesan Secretary and the Diocesan Treasurer; A representative of the Provincial Administration Board who is resident within the Diocese. Three clerical and three lay people to be elected by Synod.

Robert O'Riordan - Convenor Diocesan Secretary (Ex-officio) The Bishop (Ex-officio) The Dean (Ex-officio) Diocesan Treasurer (Ex-officio)

CLERGY

VACANCY (Synod appointee)

The Revd Prebendary Bob King (2018-2026) (Synod appointee)

The Revd David Todd (2023-2027) (Synod appointee)

<u>LAY</u>

Mr Ian Kerry (2024-2028) (Synod appointee)
Anne McAlister (2019-2027) (Synod appointee)
Mr Ken Ramage (2024-2028) (Co-opted)
Mr Alex Stewart, Convenor, Buildings Committee (Co-opted)
VACANCY (Synod appointee)

Cathedral Board

Mrs Anne McAlister

Diocesan Appointments

Diocesan Officers

Chancellor: Lady Poole (from May 2019) Resigning from 31 December 2024

Registrar: Mrs Pippa Snell (from October 2019)
Secretary: Professor Wilson Poon (2024-2029)

Treasurer: Mr Ian Lawson (2018-2028)

Synod Clerk: The Revd Canon Sarah Shaw (2021-2026)

Diocesan Auditor

Chiene & Tait (2023-2028)

Diocesan Staff

Joanna Appleby, Administrative Assistant (Mission & Ministry) & Diocesan Protection Officer (2021 -)

Ceri Ashton – Assistant Diocesan Administrator (2022 -)

Simon Filsell, Diocesan Administrator (2012 -)

Hannah Harcus, Bishop's PA (2024 -)

Mollie Nijam, Communications Officer (2024 -)

Fiona Reynolds, Advisor for Christian Life (2023 -)