The Bishop of Edinburgh

Bishop_forWeb3The Rt Rev Dr John Armes was consecrated as 26th Bishop of Edinburgh on 12 May 2012. Prior to this, he was rector of St John the Evangelist Church, Princes Street, Edinburgh and Dean of the Diocese of Edinburgh.

There are seven geographical areas of the Scottish Episcopal Church, each known as a Diocese.  The other dioceses apart from Edinburgh are: Aberdeen & Orkney; Argyll & The Isles; Brechin; Glasgow & Galloway; Moray, Ross & Caithness; and St Andrews, Dunkeld & Dunblane. Each Diocese is run by a Diocesan Bishop who oversees the spiritual and practical concerns of all the clergy and lay (non-ordained) people within their own diocese.

Before moving to Edinburgh in 1998, John Armes was Area Dean of Rossendale and Priest in Charge of Goodshaw and Crawshawbooth in the Diocese of Manchester.

John is married to Clare and they have four children. His interests include theatre, cinema, walking, reading novels, watching sport, travel and humour.